Insurance, Universal alignment & Bubblegum

It’s been far too long since I last wrote anything…. I’d be surprised if anyone was still following me to be honest!!!…

I could make up excuses and list reasons but I’ll be honest and say…. Firstly I lacked motivation…. And more fundamentally I got my girls an Xbox for Christmas and have spent the last 5 weeks addicted to blowing the shit out of aliens and monsters on various Halo games!!!

However I experienced something that I’d like to share with the world that goes someway to prove the existence of Karma, universal alignment… Or just straightforward”spookiness”

I’ll explain that shortly… But to begin with I need to explain a few things….

Anyone in sales at some point has probably been required to sell insurance,… A warranty,… Extended cover,… Peace of mind,…. Whatever it is wrapped up as it’s basically paying for something you’ll probably never need but are scared into buying “JUST IN CASE!!!!!”

My example was many years back when running a mobile phone shop (during the Nokia house brick era)… We had our 5* cover that provided a loan phone should yours need repairing or a replacement phone if lost or stolen.

And the way we sold it…. Was to basically shit people up that they were tied into a contract and if they leave the shop and someone steals their phone next week… BAM!!!…. You’ll be left paying a contract for nothing!! Now I don’t have the exact stats to hand…. But of the many, many, many phones and insurance I sold over my time there………. I don’t recall anyone returning a week later to claim for a stolen phone!!….

 

So I’m fully aware, as most people are,… That the purpose of the insurance is a money making exercise for the company selling it and their salespeople are heavily commissioned to pressure/scare tactic up-sell at the point of sale.

Thing is, some people will buy every cover going for everything they buy… Just for that “peace of mind” …. Others, like me… Will as a rule, never buy it and play the odds that its more likely not to happen and I’ll just have to lump it if something does go wrong!!

So moving along before I even start to bore myself…… Last year we bought a new sofa,… It was a corner unit and a reasonable investment. It was fabric!…. We have kids!!… We have dogs!!!…. So on this occasion as the insurance was pulled out and the salesman began his pressure sales…. I made a monumental decision!!! It was a real inner struggle!!… But I actually decided (NOT based on the salesman’s drivel I may add) that the odds of a spillage based on past experience were quite high… And therefore as it was 5 years cover on offer…. The chances of needing maintenance was quite high. And OMG before I knew it I was saying yes to the additional cover. As a little aside here… I do ALWAYS say to salespeople that I am in sales and know they have to promote these insurances and are after commission… Its always funny to see their faces and listen to the lame awkward responses “No,..No… Its not because of commission… I just thing it would be foolish for you… Blah blah blah” lol

So yeah anyway…. I paid it…. And I had to live with that decision!!

Fast forward 12 months….. And 2 days ago I’m just driving along and start thinking about finances…. Random stream of thoughts eventually ended up at me thinking of the monthly credit I’m paying off for the sofa…. Which in turn led me to get pissed off at myself for having taken the cover out on the sofa!!…. Listen, it was a long journey,… and I was bored so this shit passes the time.

Anyhow, after 10 minutes of internal berating I moved on to other things….

What happened the next day brings me to the whole “Universal alignment” thing….

Because just 24 hours after having this random stream of consciousness…… my youngest daughter got up off the sofa and had been sat on piece of bubblegum!!!

I could have kissed her!!!!!!!!!….. After the initial stress obviously!!!…… But when it became apparent that no amount of trying to freeze and scrape it off was working….. Then …. YES …. I could claim on my sofa damage cover!!!!!! Halle-f’in-lujah ……the stars had aligned …… And my one time decision was vindicated!!!! God bless insurance, universal alignment and bubblegum.c__data_users_defapps_appdata_internetexplorer_temp_saved-images_images94kc8e6x

Leave a comment